Outdoor Adventure Recommendations

Outdoor Adventure Recommendations On Trip Advisor

These outdoor adventure recommendations demonstrate our ideals coming through in our services. Our philosophy of providing sustainable and enjoyable high-quality outdoor adventures, immersed in nature flows through every aspect of our family business. We aren’t very good at blowing our own trumpet but we do believe that we have created something very special for all to experience. You don’t have to take our word for it, the national press, TV, and our beloved clients speak for themselves.

Please see each separate adventure page for personal reviews of that specific activity and our Trip Advisor outdoor adventure recommendations below:

Trip Advisor Reviews

  • star rating  Had an enthusiastic guide, Kyle, who provided a fun afternoon with knowledge also on foraging sea weed. TBH with my lack of fitness I think 3 hours kayaking would be my max. Son loved the adventure.

    paulhX1775YV
    14 August 2022

    star rating  Fantastic forage - We went on the coastal forage. Absolutely superb. Stunning scenery. Dan is like a talking encyclopaedia, his knowledge is just phenomenal. Very relaxed fun afternoon.plus soup at the end . Awesome

    theresa j
    21 April 2023

    star rating  Fantastic day - Great day kayaking, Jenny our guide was fabulous, Jenny was knowledgeable of the area and knew the edible seaweeds to eat, we will definitely visit again, especially if we can have Jenny again. Thankyou for a great day.

    avatar thumb Tracy B
    25 September 2023

    star rating  Had a Kayaking trip with my daughter and Granddaughter led by Andy who was very patient with two of us as it was our first time and in 75 years I have to say what an experience. Even get a history of Old Harry Rocks and surrounding area. Would highly recommend for any age give it a go you won't be disappointed Great Team there.

    Walkingfootballer75
    7 August 2022
  • star rating  My partner and I had An absolutely wonderful experience, morning kayaking to Harry rocks with Kyle
    Both my my partner and I haven’t really done much kayaking in the past but we both fully enjoyed this experience.
    We were set up with wetsuits, helmet, life vest and a wind jacket. Kyle took us along the coast to Old Harry rocks and back again with a short stop before our return to have a leg stretch and look for squid fossils.
    Kyle has an absolute fountain of knowledge about the natural biodiversity of the local area. Silver birch - who knew?! Lol
    I managed to Capsise our kayak and Kyle walked us though how to get back in with ease.
    Note to self - don’t reach and lean for something on the end of your paddle

    Thank you so much for a great experience. We’ll certainly be back with the family.

    IAmKim182
    24 July 2022

    star rating  Brilliant course, Dan was both informative and amusing. Covered the range of edible seaweeds, shrimps, mussels, cockles, sea vegetables before heading to the woods for further foraging. The time flew by before recapping with a delicious mug of soup enhanced with the shredded wild garlic we had picked. Even managed to organise a pair of peregrine falcons to enhance the experience.

    SnowyMoustache
    22 March 2023

    star rating  Had a great time going around Harry’s Rock with Danny, Danny was a great guide and had some fun stories about the history of the area

    PaulH1460
    16 August 2022

    star rating  We had a brilliant afternoon in the kayaks with Elliot . He made us feel relaxed and at ease . Taught us the basics we needed to learn and answered any and all of our questions . Whilst also getting us out Old Harry's rock . Highly recommended

    dickg238
    6 September 2022
  • star rating  Had a fab time with knowableable Kyle leading us all safely there and back. Really keen to get on their foraging and fishing trip!

    812wayneg
    24 October 2020

    star rating  This was a great experience only made better by the fantastic instructor (Kyle) we had. He was very funny, attentive and gave great advice as well as fun facts across the way. I would definitely reccomend anyone looking to kayak to book with Fore.

    J6955YSlucam
    14 October 2020

    star rating  What a fabulous paddle out to Old Harry Rocks on Monday afternoon 27th June! Can’t recommend Fore Adventure highly enough - a really professional outfit and so knowledgeable about the local area & environment.
    Amazing to see Old Harry from the bottom - plus the opportunity to land and walk round the ledge! Will definitely be sampling another experience with them when I am next down. Thanks again Fore Adventure!! Alison

    GlobeTrotting785976
    29 June 2022

    star rating  Lovely session paddlebaording at safe, sunny Studland bay with Lucy. Lots of encouragement to get on the board, stand up- not easy with creaky knees- paddle effectively and turn around. Feeling confident now, thank you. The site is easily accessible and parking was no problem.

    Relax34766824705
    1 August 2022
  • star rating  We had a kayak trip out from Studland Bay to Old Harry Rocks.
    Andy was an excellent guide with plenty of local knowledge about flora, fauna, geology and stories.
    Highly recommended

    teresadZ1326DR
    11 September 2022

    star rating  The whole experience from start to finish was superb.
    Lead by Ed who was professional and knowledgeable and took our safety very seriously.
    Highly recommend this company and their kayaking trip to Old Harry’s Rocks.

    Rob H
    8 August 2022

    star rating  Amazing trip seeing the landscape from a different perspective! It wasn’t something I’d done before but Kyle showed us the ropes and put us at ease ! Thanks Kyle for your guidance.

    knittedsparkle
    24 July 2022

    star rating  Amazing Kayaking tour to Old Harry rocks! Kyle was an amazing guide, and taught us everything about safety precautions and handling of the kayak in order to feel comfortable and safe on the journey. Will definitely be back!

    andracata23
    5 August 2022

Our Favourite Outdoor Adventure Recommendations

Sometimes our valued clients send us a review that is particularly eloquent or that we think sum’s up our adventures, staff and business perfectly, quite often they communicate their thoughts and feelings better than we ever could:

“Brilliant afternoon! My husband and I did the forage and feast experience and had the best time. Very relaxed and informal atmosphere and we learned loads – came away inspired to do more! The feast aspect was ace – delicious seasonal food and cocktails and a great chance to chat with others on the course. Would definitely do again.”

Mhairi E

“A really well organised, Kayak, Fish Forage, Feast day and in beautiful surroundings. Team Kayak, Andy and Kyle, herded a friendly group of us through holes in the Old Harry Cliffs, and we surprised them by actually catching a fish. Enjoyed basking in the sun in my water gear and poking about for seaweed to eat. After that, Dan took us on a mini coastal walk to identify edible/useful plants and then we were fed an outstanding foraged ingredients lunch by chef Stu, assisted by Molly (special mention for such a pretty table) !! A really lovely day surrounding by sea and being prodded gently towards foraging. Thank you.”

Beth A

“Brilliant course, Dan was both informative and amusing. Covered the range of edible seaweeds, shrimps, mussels, cockles, sea vegetables before heading to the woods for further foraging. The time flew by before recapping with a delicious mug of soup enhanced with the shredded wild garlic we had picked. Even managed to organise a pair of peregrine falcons to enhance the experience.”

Terry L

“We recently booked a team building weekend with Fore Adventure and were so impressed. The whole experience from beginning to end was so well organised, the staff team were incredibly knowledgeable and the activities were really interesting and varied, we enjoyed kayaking and fishing around Old Harry Rocks and foraging and feasting at a stunning pavilion overlooking the sea. I can’t wait to go back with my family and friends to try out all of their other adventures! If you haven’t been give it a go, you won’t be disappointed!”

Dave C

Fore Adventure’s Recommendations

We don’t exist in isolation. In our gorgeous little slice of outdoor heaven in Studland, Dorset we are lucky to be surrounded by some truly wonderful local businesses and suppliers, also at the top of their game. We would be remiss not to send out a nod to them and all that they do for our clients outside of our outdoor adventures:

Accommodation
The Pig On The Beach Hotel Accommodation Studland Dorset

The Pig On The Beach

Good For:

Great Food, sumptuously styled rooms, and a glorious setting overlooking Old Harry Rocks.

Highlights:

Sip cocktails at sundown around the fire pits on the grounds or laze your days away on a sunlounger overlooking the sea.

Knoll House Hotel Studland Dorset

Knoll House Hotel

Good For:

Enviable setting and luscious lawns. A great choice for families.

Highlights:

Cool off in their outdoor and indoor pools or get your double bubble fix with a glass of fizz in the hot tub!

Burnbake Forest Lodges Campsite Dorset

Burnbake Forest Lodges And Campsite

Good For:

A rural campsite set in gorgeous greenery, great facilities, and super helpful staff, perfect for families and groups.

Highlights:

Forest camping, a variety of pitches, and luxury lodges with hot tubs.
*Contact us for special rates on their lodges

Toms Field Campsite Langton Matravers Near Swanage Dorset

Tom's Field Campsite

Good For:

A rural campsite set in amongst Purbeck pastures, great facilities, and amazing views. Perfect for families and groups.

Highlights:

Coastal footpath right on your doorstep, within the idyllic Purbeck village of Langton Matravers

Restaurants/ Dining
Shell Bay Seafood Restaurant Studland Dorset

Shell Bay

Good For:

Seafood restaurant with a fantastic a la carte menu packed with fresh, local seafood and produce from the surrounding areas. Al fresco dining is available.

Highlights:

Jaw-dropping views over Brownsea Island, the waters of Poole Harbour, and Sandbanks. Enjoy a panoramic sunset over the water as you dine.

Java Swanage Coffe House Lunch Restaurant Dining Cake

Java

Good For:

Home-made, tasty lunch food, exceptional coffee, and sweet treats in a unique, relaxing environment. A local family-run business with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

Highlights:

Large range of vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan meals and treats. The rock cakes and tarts are to die for. Take away available.

Pig On The Beach Hotel Dining Room Restaurant

Pig On The Beach

Good For:

Well known for its extensive tasty menu using fresh, locally sourced ingredients. The food style is driven by homegrown clarity of flavour, and influenced by the Dorset landscape and proximity to the coast.

Highlights:

Supplies a 25 mile menu and has it's own fabulous kitchen garden. Wood pizza oven in the garden with views over the bay.

Bankes Arms Studland Pub Food Dining

Bankes Arms Studland

Good For:

Rustic pub feels with its own brewery beers. Freshly prepared local seasonal menu. Simple bar snacks and pub favourites to gourmet dishes to accompany a bottle of wine. Great for families.

Highlights:

Nestle by an open fire in colder seasons or bask in the sun al-fresco dining with views over Studland Bay out towards the Isle Of Wight

Shopping
Studland Stores Post Office Dorset Village Shop

Studland Stores

Good For:

Lovely village convenience store in the heart of Studland village. A range of local produce, fresh fruit and veg, newspapers, and essentials.

Highlights:

Family run, local post office services inside the shop.

Jurassic Outdoor Clothing Equipment Shop Swanage

Jurassic Outdoor

Good For:

All of your outdoor needs and more. A great range of high-quality, tested outdoor clothing, shoes and boots, and camping and climbing equipment.

Highlights:

Independent and family-run local business with exceptional customer service.

Budgens Supermarket Swanage

Budgens, Swanage

Good For:

Local family-run supermarket with a bakery, fresh and frozen foods, and a newspaper kiosk.

Highlights:

Range of locally produced foods from local suppliers

Country Foods Health Food Shop Swanage

Country Foods

Good For:

A great range of health foods, supplements and fresh vegetables. A great place to go for those hard-to-find and organic ingredients. 

Highlights:

Sustainability and eco products, pushing for plastic free shopping. Bring and fill our own bags at refill stations. Knowledgeable staff.

Pubs
Bankes Arms Pub Studland Dorset

Bankes Arms, Studland

Good For:

A traditional country pub serving their own beers, brewed next door. Freshly prepared local seasonal menu. Simple bar snacks and pub favourites to gourmet dishes. Great for families.

Highlights:

Large pub garden overlooking Studland Bay. Sunday roasts throughout winter.

Square Compass Pub Worth Matravers Dorset

Square And Compass, Worth Matravers

Good For:

Family-owned ancient English free house supplying locally brewed tasty beers and ciders and a range of quality, tasty food. A live music venue with a range of unique acts and jam nights. Range of quality and tasty food. Open fires. Coastal views to die for.

Highlights:

Rated as one of the best pubs and beer gardens in the UK. Even has its own fossil museum.

Scott Arms Pub Kingston Dorset

Scott Arms, Kingston

Good For:

Welcoming traditional inn with two roomy bars. Serving real ales, ciders, and a range of wines. A menu of old pub favourites with freshly cooked, locally sourced food.

Highlights:

Gorgeous views over Corfe Valley and the castle. Fresh-cooked Caribbean food from the Jerk Shack.

Greyhound Corfe Castle Pub

The Greyhound, Corfe

Good For:

Traditional village pub in Corfe Castle serving fresh, seasonal, and local food on an extensive menu with some vegetarian and vegan options. A range of cask ales, keg lagers, and ciders from local breweries.

Highlights:

Possibly the most photographed pub in Dorset, sitting under the shadow of Corfe Castle.

Locations
Studland Bay Outdoor Sports Location Dorset

Studland Bay

Good For:

Our home is perfect for a variety of outdoor activities, foraging, and a stroll along the beach. Stunning views of and water access to Old Harry Rocks.

Highlights:

Huge variety of flora and fauna from seaweeds to seals and dolphins in a wold heritage site on the Jurrasic coast.

View From Nine Barrow Purbeck Dorset

Nine Barrow Ridge

Good For:

Take a walk or mountain bike ride up to the elongated hill forming the northern ridge of the Purbeck Hills on the Isle of Purbeck between Swanage and Corfe.

Highlights:

360-degree views over the Isle of Purbeck, Poole Harbour, and over to the Bournemouth coast. 

Swyre Head Viewpoint Dorset

Swyre Head

Good For:

Coastal walking to the highest point of the Isle of Purbeck in Dorset through gorgeous country estate farmland. Voted one of the best views in the UK over the Jurrasic coast from Kimmerage bay to The Isle of Portland.

Highlights:

Benches to rest. Stunning sunsets over the sea at the right time of the year.

Durslton Country Park Outdoor Location Dorset

Durlston Country Park

Good For:

National nature reserve with Durlston Castle on the grounds. Family-friendly coastal walking and nature trails. 

Highlights:

Wildlife spotting stations. Cafe/ restaurant within the castle.

Others
Wedding Photographers Dorset One Thousand Words

one thousand words

Good For:

Amazing local photographers, specialising in natural timeless photography of people, emotions, and places.

Highlights:

Wedding photography from a duo of professional photographers in Dorset working without time limits.

Andy Farrer Landscape Photographer

Andy Farrer

Good For:

Award-winning landscape photographer best known for his atmospheric images of Dorset, especially his beloved home peninsular of The Isle of Purbeck.

Highlights:

Stunning landscape photographic prints and calendars.

Sandy Hill Arts Center Gallery Corfe Castle

Sandy Hill Arts

Good For:

A collaborative arts charity in Corfe, Dorset, bringing together artists and creatives from Purbeck and beyond in events, exhibitions, and education.

Highlights:

Current exhibitions, workshops, events, and gallery.

Pink Goat Restaurant Corfe

The Pink Goat, Corfe

Good For:

Locally owned restaurant supplying super tasty food and drinks. A hub for the local community, a stop for tourists, and a venue to feel like a 'home from home'.

Highlights:

Fresh goat from the owner's own goat farm, vegetarian and vegan options on the menu.

Outdoor Adventures Reviews Fore Adventure Activity Company Dorset

Adventure Inspiration

Book Now