Outdoor Adventure Recommendations

Outdoor Adventure Recommendations On Trip Advisor

These outdoor adventure recommendations demonstrate our ideals coming through in our services. Our philosophy of providing sustainable and enjoyable high-quality outdoor adventures, immersed in nature flows through every aspect of our family business. We aren’t very good at blowing our own trumpet but we do believe that we have created something very special for all to experience. You don’t have to take our word for it, the national press, TV, and our beloved clients speak for themselves.

Please see each separate adventure page for personal reviews of that specific activity and our Trip Advisor outdoor adventure recommendations below:

Trip Advisor Reviews

  • star rating  Seeing the coastline bird life up close was a great experience. This was was made particularly enjoyable by our excellent guide, Elliot, who had great knowledge about the geology and nature of this coastal area. Brilliant day.

    X7056YHneilc
    17 October 2022

    star rating  Kayaking to/from Old Harry - My partner and I had a blast as we headed to/from Old Harry Rocks. Our guide Elliott was very knowledgeable and easily able to answer our questions. We can't wait to come back for another outing with Fore/Adventure!

    I just wish I was brave enough to take my phone on a water adventure, because the pictures would have been stunning!

    931juliannel
    23 April 2023

    star rating  We had a great kayak trip out to Old Harry Rocks and beyond. Skilfully guided by friendly, informative and professional Danni, it was an exciting, but not intimidating experience - we are none of us seasoned kayakers. We were immediately put at ease and given encouraging tips on handling our kayaks at just the right time. Going out beyond Old Harry Rocks into the more open water is the high spot of the trip. Definitely recommend.

    Steve S
    31 July 2022

    star rating  Fun and informative - The coastal foraging course was really good. Instructor Dan was a mine of information and enthusiasm. Very satisfied with the whole experience.

    Wander90204
    21 March 2023
  • star rating  2 hour return kayak to Old Harry's - A great way to see the coast line and get some exercise at the same time. Jenny was very knowledgeable about the local area and a great kayak guide.

    avatar thumb Guy T
    26 May 2024

    star rating  Lucy was amazing at making us feel safe and comfortable throughout the experience, her excellent knowledge of the area really gave a great outlook of old Harry and its history. Would definitely come back to experience this again. THANK YOU!

    Josh_Mzzz
    23 June 2022

    star rating  A fantastic 3 hour kayak trip for me and hubby. Dani was friendly and very informative, teaching us some extra skills and making sure that the group were proficient before commencing the trip. We kayaked around Old Harry, through the openings in the rocks and passed some amazing wildlife. Dani was very knowledgeable telling us about the legends based around the rocks, including the tales of Harry the pirate, the different types of birds and the sealife. We even got to try some seaweed! A stunning and tranquil way to see this amazing tourist attraction.

    Lesley F
    25 August 2022

    star rating  Great sea kayaking!  - Amazing 2 hour sea Kayak with Jenny - incredibly patient with our lack of kayak experience, a great guide (and it was so cool learning about the different kinds of sea weed!).

    avatar thumb DugganPatrick
    2 May 2024
  • star rating  Just finished the introduction to sea kayaking corse, it was great fun and and good location.
    Kyle was our instructor and he was more than happy to answer any questions (even what type of birds were on the cliff.

    E6241UEmikes
    23 July 2022

    star rating  Fantastic day out for my family at the Halloween bushcraft. Was really well organised and we came away with a few things that we had made. Ollie was a fantastic instructor and I can’t thank Jade & Dan enough for arranging this for us.

    James_1SH
    25 October 2021

    star rating  A fantastic afternoon coastal foraging and feasting. A wonderful gift from my sister. Dan has so much knowledge and talks with such passion allowing for hands on participation. The cocktail and dinning experience was beyond expectation. Absolutely delicious! The best meal we have had in a long time. Book it!!!!!!!

    romaynew2018
    29 March 2022

    star rating  We booked paddle boarding for this weekend. This was our very first SUP experience and we had a great time thanks to Jenny. Jenny helped us feel confident and safe in water as non swimmers. We had the most relaxing and fun time in the 2 hours of SUP. We plan to be back for the intermediate SUP soon!

    419asid
    11 June 2023
  • star rating  Fantastic two hour kayak to Old Harry's Rock - My husband and I did the 2 hour kayak to Old Harry's Rocks (11.30-1.30pm slot in September). We had Jenny as our instructor and she was fantastic. It all felt very safe, great wetsuits/life vests/helmets. We weren't sure how hard it would be in the sea but definitely suitable for beginners (we've only kayaked a few times), nice and gentle. Got some great bits of history from Jenny along the paddle. Overall would highly recommend (particularly with Jenny!) And very happy we did it.

    avatar thumb Hannah W
    28 September 2023

    star rating  Highly recommend  - Myself and a friend kayaked out to Old Harry Rocks with Jenny yesterday. Friendly, knowledgeable, experienced, fun - we had quite the adventure! Thank you to Jenny for a great trip, I’d highly recommend. Thanks Jenny, very grateful for our trip, you did a great job

    avatar thumb laurarB2SY
    30 September 2023

    star rating  Absolutely 5* experience from start to finish. Kyle was absolutely great and instantly built total confidence amongst a very mixed experience group. Quality kit as well - which is unusual. As an ex outdoors pursuits instructor- I’m really impressed! I live in Poole and this will now definitely be my ‘go-to’ 1st choice experience for all of my friends visiting (Inc. families with younger children). Super stable boats (even in today’s wind against tide choppy conditions). Utter support, confidence and awareness from Kyle, Also, how often will you get the opportunity to experience this section of our stunning coast from sea level rather than joining the crowds looking down from the coastal path. Great feedback as well for John who was leading the sit in Sea Kayak Experience. That’s next on our list now after hearing the joy of his group’s experience. So in summary: if you’re here and want a real ‘take home’ memory - get your places booked!!

    Paxo9
    28 August 2022

    star rating  Excellent Trip - I booked a 2 hour kayaking tour to Old Harry Rocks and my friend and I went yesterday. The most beautiful day and we had a fantastic time, Jenny was brilliant, kitting us out with wet suits and giving us brief instructions on the paddles and kayaks before heading out onto the sea. Along the way she pointed out areas of interest and wildlife and we tasted different seaweeds - it was much more informative and interesting than I had imagined- we were very lucky with the weather but even in the rain it would be a great trip! Thanks so much Jenny - we’ll be back.

    B8384HYhelenm
    10 June 2023

Our Favourite Outdoor Adventure Recommendations

Sometimes our valued clients send us a review that is particularly eloquent or that we think sum’s up our adventures, staff and business perfectly, quite often they communicate their thoughts and feelings better than we ever could:

“Brilliant afternoon! My husband and I did the forage and feast experience and had the best time. Very relaxed and informal atmosphere and we learned loads – came away inspired to do more! The feast aspect was ace – delicious seasonal food and cocktails and a great chance to chat with others on the course. Would definitely do again.”

Mhairi E

“A really well organised, Kayak, Fish Forage, Feast day and in beautiful surroundings. Team Kayak, Andy and Kyle, herded a friendly group of us through holes in the Old Harry Cliffs, and we surprised them by actually catching a fish. Enjoyed basking in the sun in my water gear and poking about for seaweed to eat. After that, Dan took us on a mini coastal walk to identify edible/useful plants and then we were fed an outstanding foraged ingredients lunch by chef Stu, assisted by Molly (special mention for such a pretty table) !! A really lovely day surrounding by sea and being prodded gently towards foraging. Thank you.”

Beth A

“Brilliant course, Dan was both informative and amusing. Covered the range of edible seaweeds, shrimps, mussels, cockles, sea vegetables before heading to the woods for further foraging. The time flew by before recapping with a delicious mug of soup enhanced with the shredded wild garlic we had picked. Even managed to organise a pair of peregrine falcons to enhance the experience.”

Terry L

“We recently booked a team building weekend with Fore Adventure and were so impressed. The whole experience from beginning to end was so well organised, the staff team were incredibly knowledgeable and the activities were really interesting and varied, we enjoyed kayaking and fishing around Old Harry Rocks and foraging and feasting at a stunning pavilion overlooking the sea. I can’t wait to go back with my family and friends to try out all of their other adventures! If you haven’t been give it a go, you won’t be disappointed!”

Dave C

Fore Adventure’s Recommendations

We don’t exist in isolation. In our gorgeous little slice of outdoor heaven in Studland, Dorset we are lucky to be surrounded by some truly wonderful local businesses and suppliers, also at the top of their game. We would be remiss not to send out a nod to them and all that they do for our clients outside of our outdoor adventures:

Accommodation
The Pig On The Beach Hotel Accommodation Studland Dorset

The Pig On The Beach

Good For:

Great Food, sumptuously styled rooms, and a glorious setting overlooking Old Harry Rocks.

Highlights:

Sip cocktails at sundown around the fire pits on the grounds or laze your days away on a sunlounger overlooking the sea.

Knoll House Hotel Studland Dorset

Knoll House Hotel

Good For:

Enviable setting and luscious lawns. A great choice for families.

Highlights:

Cool off in their outdoor and indoor pools or get your double bubble fix with a glass of fizz in the hot tub!

Burnbake Forest Lodges Campsite Dorset

Burnbake Forest Lodges And Campsite

Good For:

A rural campsite set in gorgeous greenery, great facilities, and super helpful staff, perfect for families and groups.

Highlights:

Forest camping, a variety of pitches, and luxury lodges with hot tubs.
*Contact us for special rates on their lodges

Toms Field Campsite Langton Matravers Near Swanage Dorset

Tom's Field Campsite

Good For:

A rural campsite set in amongst Purbeck pastures, great facilities, and amazing views. Perfect for families and groups.

Highlights:

Coastal footpath right on your doorstep, within the idyllic Purbeck village of Langton Matravers

Restaurants/ Dining
Shell Bay Seafood Restaurant Studland Dorset

Shell Bay

Good For:

Seafood restaurant with a fantastic a la carte menu packed with fresh, local seafood and produce from the surrounding areas. Al fresco dining is available.

Highlights:

Jaw-dropping views over Brownsea Island, the waters of Poole Harbour, and Sandbanks. Enjoy a panoramic sunset over the water as you dine.

Java Swanage Coffe House Lunch Restaurant Dining Cake

Java

Good For:

Home-made, tasty lunch food, exceptional coffee, and sweet treats in a unique, relaxing environment. A local family-run business with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

Highlights:

Large range of vegetarian, gluten-free, and vegan meals and treats. The rock cakes and tarts are to die for. Take away available.

Pig On The Beach Hotel Dining Room Restaurant

Pig On The Beach

Good For:

Well known for its extensive tasty menu using fresh, locally sourced ingredients. The food style is driven by homegrown clarity of flavour, and influenced by the Dorset landscape and proximity to the coast.

Highlights:

Supplies a 25 mile menu and has it's own fabulous kitchen garden. Wood pizza oven in the garden with views over the bay.

Bankes Arms Studland Pub Food Dining

Bankes Arms Studland

Good For:

Rustic pub feels with its own brewery beers. Freshly prepared local seasonal menu. Simple bar snacks and pub favourites to gourmet dishes to accompany a bottle of wine. Great for families.

Highlights:

Nestle by an open fire in colder seasons or bask in the sun al-fresco dining with views over Studland Bay out towards the Isle Of Wight

Shopping
Studland Stores Post Office Dorset Village Shop

Studland Stores

Good For:

Lovely village convenience store in the heart of Studland village. A range of local produce, fresh fruit and veg, newspapers, and essentials.

Highlights:

Family run, local post office services inside the shop.

Jurassic Outdoor Clothing Equipment Shop Swanage

Jurassic Outdoor

Good For:

All of your outdoor needs and more. A great range of high-quality, tested outdoor clothing, shoes and boots, and camping and climbing equipment.

Highlights:

Independent and family-run local business with exceptional customer service.

Budgens Supermarket Swanage

Budgens, Swanage

Good For:

Local family-run supermarket with a bakery, fresh and frozen foods, and a newspaper kiosk.

Highlights:

Range of locally produced foods from local suppliers

Country Foods Health Food Shop Swanage

Country Foods

Good For:

A great range of health foods, supplements and fresh vegetables. A great place to go for those hard-to-find and organic ingredients. 

Highlights:

Sustainability and eco products, pushing for plastic free shopping. Bring and fill our own bags at refill stations. Knowledgeable staff.

Pubs
Bankes Arms Pub Studland Dorset

Bankes Arms, Studland

Good For:

A traditional country pub serving their own beers, brewed next door. Freshly prepared local seasonal menu. Simple bar snacks and pub favourites to gourmet dishes. Great for families.

Highlights:

Large pub garden overlooking Studland Bay. Sunday roasts throughout winter.

Square Compass Pub Worth Matravers Dorset

Square And Compass, Worth Matravers

Good For:

Family-owned ancient English free house supplying locally brewed tasty beers and ciders and a range of quality, tasty food. A live music venue with a range of unique acts and jam nights. Range of quality and tasty food. Open fires. Coastal views to die for.

Highlights:

Rated as one of the best pubs and beer gardens in the UK. Even has its own fossil museum.

Scott Arms Pub Kingston Dorset

Scott Arms, Kingston

Good For:

Welcoming traditional inn with two roomy bars. Serving real ales, ciders, and a range of wines. A menu of old pub favourites with freshly cooked, locally sourced food.

Highlights:

Gorgeous views over Corfe Valley and the castle. Fresh-cooked Caribbean food from the Jerk Shack.

Greyhound Corfe Castle Pub

The Greyhound, Corfe

Good For:

Traditional village pub in Corfe Castle serving fresh, seasonal, and local food on an extensive menu with some vegetarian and vegan options. A range of cask ales, keg lagers, and ciders from local breweries.

Highlights:

Possibly the most photographed pub in Dorset, sitting under the shadow of Corfe Castle.

Locations
Studland Bay Outdoor Sports Location Dorset

Studland Bay

Good For:

Our home is perfect for a variety of outdoor activities, foraging, and a stroll along the beach. Stunning views of and water access to Old Harry Rocks.

Highlights:

Huge variety of flora and fauna from seaweeds to seals and dolphins in a wold heritage site on the Jurrasic coast.

View From Nine Barrow Purbeck Dorset

Nine Barrow Ridge

Good For:

Take a walk or mountain bike ride up to the elongated hill forming the northern ridge of the Purbeck Hills on the Isle of Purbeck between Swanage and Corfe.

Highlights:

360-degree views over the Isle of Purbeck, Poole Harbour, and over to the Bournemouth coast. 

Swyre Head Viewpoint Dorset

Swyre Head

Good For:

Coastal walking to the highest point of the Isle of Purbeck in Dorset through gorgeous country estate farmland. Voted one of the best views in the UK over the Jurrasic coast from Kimmerage bay to The Isle of Portland.

Highlights:

Benches to rest. Stunning sunsets over the sea at the right time of the year.

Durslton Country Park Outdoor Location Dorset

Durlston Country Park

Good For:

National nature reserve with Durlston Castle on the grounds. Family-friendly coastal walking and nature trails. 

Highlights:

Wildlife spotting stations. Cafe/ restaurant within the castle.

Others
Wedding Photographers Dorset One Thousand Words

one thousand words

Good For:

Amazing local photographers, specialising in natural timeless photography of people, emotions, and places.

Highlights:

Wedding photography from a duo of professional photographers in Dorset working without time limits.

Andy Farrer Landscape Photographer

Andy Farrer

Good For:

Award-winning landscape photographer best known for his atmospheric images of Dorset, especially his beloved home peninsular of The Isle of Purbeck.

Highlights:

Stunning landscape photographic prints and calendars.

Sandy Hill Arts Center Gallery Corfe Castle

Sandy Hill Arts

Good For:

A collaborative arts charity in Corfe, Dorset, bringing together artists and creatives from Purbeck and beyond in events, exhibitions, and education.

Highlights:

Current exhibitions, workshops, events, and gallery.

Pink Goat Restaurant Corfe

The Pink Goat, Corfe

Good For:

Locally owned restaurant supplying super tasty food and drinks. A hub for the local community, a stop for tourists, and a venue to feel like a 'home from home'.

Highlights:

Fresh goat from the owner's own goat farm, vegetarian and vegan options on the menu.

Outdoor Adventures Reviews Fore Adventure Activity Company Dorset

Adventure Inspiration

Book Now